may be scored as follows:
both batsmen cross between the batting crease and the non-striker's
crease, and touch the ground behind either crease with their bat or
body (refered to as "making their ground"). One run is scored
(refered to here and elsewhere as a "physical" run). Bonus
runs are only scored if the batsmen successfully make a physical run
as described - in other words, if one of the batsmen gets out while
trying to score the "physical" run, no bonus runs are added.
Note: the rules also state that unless the batsmen run and
complete a physical run, no bonus runs will be added, with the exception
of a ball struck directly to the back net. However, many local-centre
domestic competitions do not enforce this rule.
a batter hits the ball with the bat or the hand(s) holding the bat,
into the perimeter netting. This includes balls which, once hit, are
unintentionally deflected by the batsmen's protective equipment, by
fielders, and unintentionally deflected from the non-striker's person
or equipment. The following bonus runs will apply:
|ZONE A (FRONT
|ZONE B (SIDE
C (SIDE NET)
|ZONE D (BACK
||4 RUNS ON BOUNCE
|ZONE D (BACK
||6 RUNS ON FULL
|ZONE B OR C ONTO
to my diagram
of the scoring zones for further
The scoring zone that the ball strikes first will count, with the
exception of a ball striking Zone B or C and rebounding onto Zone
The top net is neutral (it scores no runs). A ball hit via the top
net onto the Zone D net on the full still scores 6 bonus runs.
a fielder causes an overthrow, physical runs will be scored when the
batters cross between the batting crease and the non-striker's crease
and make good their ground. An "overthrow" is a term from
outdoor cricket. It is when the batsmen take an 'extra' physical run
as a result of the deliberate effort of a fielder throwing, flicking,
slapping or kicking the ball in an attempt to strike the wicket and
cause a run out, as against taking a run as a result of hitting the
ball. The fact it has a name (an "overthrow") gives it no
special significance - it's just another run.
batting team will be credited with 2 runs when the umpire calls a
delivery "No Ball", "Wide" or "Legside".
If the batsman plays a "No Ball" into a scoring zone, the
zone score and the physical runs made will be added to the
2 runs given for the No Ball etc. Any physical runs made off a "Wide"
or "Legside" will be added to the 2 runs given for the Wide
in the opinion of the umpire, a fielder, while attempting to run
out a batsman, does not have "reasonable control" of
the ball and it hits a scoring zone, the relevant bonus runs for
that scoring zone will apply.
control" is defined by the AICF as the deliberate attempt
by a fielder which causes the ball to noticeably change from its
original path to the direction of the intended target wickets,
in an attempt to run a batsman out. Flicking, slapping and kicking
the ball fall within this definition. However, the term "noticeably
change from its original path to the direction of the intended
target" seriously undermines, in my opinion, the spirit of
such a rule. Noticeably ... from noticable ... this definition
means if you can see any degree of variation from the original
path of the ball to the direction of the target wicket, the fielder
had "reasonable control".
Example: after striking a fielder's leg, the ball runs along the
ground, parallel to the net. A fielder swings a hand at the ball
as it passes him, but he can only get a couple of finger-tips
to it. However, that small contact is just enough to cause the
ball to travel a couple of degrees away from parallel to the net.
Technically, that constitutes "reasonable control" by
the definition above, but it aint.
In terms of having a definition that is going to be easily and
consistently interpreted by all umpires, the current rule is fine.
It's just that the definition often doesn't match the reality.
Do I have an alternative? No. Well, not one that is particularly
easy to define. Do you the reader have an alternative? Or just
an opinion? Drop us a line and let us know.
net zones struck as a result of a "reasonably controlled"
attempt will not result in bonus runs being scored. If the umpire
is uncertain that the ball was reasonably controlled, the bonus
net score will count - and you are treading on thin ice. Because
of the nature of this rule and definition, many umpires will define
"reasonable control" as "any contact by
the fielder". Then along comes an umpire trying to interpret
the rules accurately ..... you can imagine players' reactions.
ball deflected by a fielder into a scoring zone after the ball
has been hit by the striker's bat or the hand(s) holding the bat,
will score the relevant zone score. [See Rule 11A(iii) above].
deflected into scoring zones off the batsman's person (eg. leg), and
where no contact has been made with the bat or the hand(s) holding
the bat, will not score bonus runs - physical runs will of course
still be scored.
a batsman is given "Out", the batting team will lose 5 runs.
All previous runs scored off that delivery will not count.
a ball strikes an element marking the transition from one scoring
zone to anothers (tape, corner conduit or cable etc), the higher zone
score will count. This could be taken to mean a ball landing directly
at the junction of the floor and the back net should score 6. Most
umpires would agree that this should be scored 4, and the answer to
any queries would be that the rules only deal with the transition
from one scoring zone to another, not from the ground (which is not
a scoring zone) to the net. It is a general principle in cricket that
if a ball hits the ground at the same time as it hits the hand that
caught it, the catch is not allowed. The AICF rules state that a ball
hitting the bottom supporting cable is not out, reinforcing this principle.
I think the 'ground-net' situation should be considered similarly
re: the scoring or otherwise of a 6.
case of scoreboard error, the captain of the fielding team or the
batsmen at the wicket must appeal about the score before the commencement
of a new over, or before the players leave the court in the case of
the last over of an innings. Failing that, the scoreboard will then
be deemed correct.
TO RULES INDEX
marked or clearly identified as otherwise, all images and photographs
are the original work of the author, who retains copyright and ownership.
For enquiries on the use and/or purchase of photographs, please contact
. Textual content is also the original work of the author (unless marked
or identified as otherwise) and subject to copyright and the author's
ownership. Please Contact
Us for information on use of any content of these pages.
© 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004 Indoor Cricket World (formerly the Australian
Indoor Cricket Page) Contact